Piranesi


Piranesi: ‘Spectacular’ The Times
Welcome to my world. A harsh and beautiful world of surprising complexity and harmony. Watch out for the tides and marvel at the statues. The Hall of the Minotaurs. Look out for the birds (crows, owls and albatrosses). Are they sending me secret messages? And what about those statues that populate each and every room? The Woman with the Beehive, the Satyr with the finger at his mouth (advising caution?).
625 Minotaur Photos and Premium High Res Pictures - Getty Images
And what about the Other? My only living companion in this world who I get to see twice a week. We discuss important aspects of my world and he provides me with important items (like multivitamins and shoes). Of course there are also the 13 dead people who I venerate. Not to mention 16 (who will become important later).
But then there are the discrepancies, the gaps. I keep meticulous journals, but they can sometimes surprise me. Although I describe myself as a man of Science, I wonder if my world is complete.
The Minotaur in the Labyrinth and the Beauty and the Beast in the Castle;  different ways of reaction to a traumatic event - MedicinaNarrativa.eu

Gripping, poetic, surprising, elegiac, a detective fantasy that crosses over into our world in unexpected ways, an accomplished work by a writer at the top of her powers. Strongly recommend this to anyone who enjoys science fiction, fantasy or just contemporary novels.